Fourth Blog Assignment

The most recent assignment has been my favorite so far. I liked doing research and pulling quotes from different sources. As for the thesis, I didn’t really it find it difficult to develop. I’ve had a lot of practice writing thesis statements in high school. I knew how specific a thesis should be and I quickly figured out what I wanted to write about. I chose to write about the connection between the lack of a father in King’s life because I knew I could easily make connections to Jack Torrance in The Shining. With the amount of research I did and the variety of quotes I found in Stephen King’s novels I was able to write the first draft of my paper quickly and with ease. The only thing I had left to do was edit my drafts.  Overall this particular assignment went pretty smoothly for me.

 

Even though I went into class knowing how to write a thesis, I found the in-class demonstration of the process of developing a thesis to be very helpful. I was able to look at the thesis I had written and be confident in the fact that it fit the guidelines you had set. I knew that I was prepared to write a fully developed paper with examples and quotes to support my thesis. I don’t really have any questions about thesis statements other than; “Can a single thesis statement argue more than one point, or would that make a paper seem disorganized?”

Leave a Reply

